Back in The Saddle!

Yee Ha! Two weeks ago I had my first day back in the studio!

I haven’t really been myself. And, Oh, what a mess it was! Stuff had really piled up and was really, everywhere! Sometimes it also becomes the catch all when we have company – so after a family visit (and illness) – it really needed some help.

After some clean up – I started to get busy again!

*****

And, today is my first day back to blogging! Honestly, I wasn’t sure I would get here. Sounds dramatic, but boy was I sick. The diagnosis hasn’t been confirmed yet, though we are trying some medications. Too many for my taste, yet very thankful they are available. When they don’t really know what you have, they recommend taking a little of everything – and then we will cut back and see what it is. Plus, more doctors. More tests. Blah Blah.

Our hunch is a past Hyperthyroid condition flaring up. I have been in remission for 2 years and my numbers are normal – but, after taking the medication for a little over a month I am starting to feel normal again.

Without going into too much detail Hyperthyroid Symptoms are:

•    Palpitations
•    Heat intolerance
•    Nervousness
•    Insomnia
•    Breathlessness
•    Increased bowel movements
•    Light or absent menstrual periods
•    Fatigue
•    Fast heart rate
•    Trembling hands
•    Weight loss
•    Muscle weakness
•    Warm moist skin
•    Hair loss
•    Staring gaze

The illness is very unpleasant. What causes it really, isn’t quite known. Too much iodine and stress are linked to it. Plus, it usually runs in families. Otherwise, it’s a mystery. I eat well. But, I do take on a lot – how else are ya gonna get to do it all before you kick the bucket?!  More and more Americans are having Thyroid problems. Maybe we should slow down a bit?

And, to all of you, my friends and family, a quick thank you, thank you! It was a struggle to get to this point and I couldn’t have done it without you all! Your comments and calls were so lovely. Not to mention the cards and the visits. It was such a difficult period – all the love was deeply heartfelt. Thank you!

*****

And, how about some fun stuff!

I have a show up at the Lafayette City Hall here in Colorado through the end of the month! The space is so lovely and Susan Booker – The Cultural Resources Coordinator is so delightful. I’m excited to have my work featured up there. Please, swing by and see my large Mixed Media Paintings and my smaller Collage Pieces.

And, I have been invited back to show my Horse Photography and Collage Work at the Lafayette Public Library over the holiday season. I’m so excited and look forward to displaying in this great venue!

Jenn Ressmann Painting Show Lafayette Colorado City Hall, 2012

*****

And, The Golden Colorado Fine Arts Festival is coming up in a couple of weeks!

A Couple of Artist that I think do some fun stuff! Make sure to check out their work:

Victoria Eubanks – her encaustics are really lovely!

Nadine Sage – how fun are these belt buckles!

Maureen Hearty – her sculptures and metal work are really exciting!

Hope this reaches everyone happy and healthy! What kind of fun are you up to!? 🙂

*****

2 thoughts on “Back in The Saddle!

  1. So sorry you’ve been ill but happy that you are back in the saddle once again. Got your postcard for the show in the mail and LOVE the postcard itself. Hope to get over to see it!

Share with Us!

