Something about Colorado

"His Eyes" © Jennifer Ressmann His Eyes
© Jenn Ressmann
11 x 14 Photographic Print

I have been feeling scattered and unable to really focus. My energies are all over the place and constantly pulled in directions I don’t really want to go. Don’t get me wrong – I am not the type of person to brush-off my responsibilities – I’m pretty serious on the whole. What I am mostly talking about is socializing. While fun, I feel like I’m supposed to spend most of my time doing that. Chatting online – Facebook, Twitter, etc. And, I am spread so thin I’m not really giving my best to much of anything. I want to be a good artist, make good art and be successful as a visual artist. This should be my focus.

So, after stumbling across a series of articles by Maine Painter Brian Kliewer, I have decided to take back my time as an artist. The valuable art creation time that seems to be frittered away online. For a long time I have felt somewhat uneasy about FB and a lot of the social media outlets. For the last few months I really haven’t been involved with many of them. And, none of my collectors have reached me this way. Though I have found a gallery I enjoy through Twitter – surely I would have met them another way. I’m not sure all the time put into these other social media avenues have amounted to me being a better artist or more successful.

At the same time – I love blogging and reading others’ blogs. I find this time quite informative and valuable. I also enjoy commenting and engaging in these venues.

Just writing this has me breathing easier and I am on my adventure with a clearer head.

Continuing forward with my current work and direction – I love to work with recycled materials and enjoying the world around me – beautiful Colorado and The West as a whole.

I hope you will join me in my adventure. And, I love to hear from you. The relationships I have gained from blogging and being an artist are invaluable to me and I truly charish you as my friend.

…..

6 thoughts on “Something about Colorado

  1. I am with you…I find I get the most out of blogging and blog visiting. It SEEMS more personal and private even though it is out there for the world to see. The content is so much richer and engaging for me.

    x…x

  2. Pingback: Chevrolet wyjątkowa linia « czesci-samOOchodowe

  3. Hi Martha & Stephanie

    Yes, I really think we all get a lot from blogging and being part of other people’s blogs. Absolutely – richer. An experience.

    My instinct is that FB and twitter are more distractions to keep me from what is really important. The more conversations I have about this with other people, the more I find others that feel the same way.

    Thanks for the comments Ladies – Have a wonderful week. 🙂

  4. Hi Laura – thanks for stopping by. It’s something I have struggled with all my life. There are so many fun and interesting things to do – but as you get older I think you really have to be more selective. Happy Trails!

Share with Us!

