Blah Photography to Yeah Photography!

Before I was a painter, I was a photographer and a printmaker.

I am excited by all of these media and hopefully that will never interfere with my position as an artist. Which is what I truly consider myself (not just a painter or photographer, etc). What if someday I’d like to incorporate sculpture into my repertoire? Would I be considered less of an artist, less talented, if I do not strictly focus on one area? We’ll see won’t we?

Recently, I had become bored with my photography. I continued to photograph if something came to me – but, I was bored bored bored. I turned to painting. What fun! Completely different, organic and tactile. Just plain fun! In the past week I have gotten the spark back for photography – with a twist. Taking some of the images I had photographed this summer and last – I changed them through Photoshop and fell back in love with the process of creating with this tool – the camera – by adding more with the computer.

Here are the steps I took…

First the beginning image –

 

Orange Flowers 2

"Orange Flowers" ©Jennifer Ressmann, 2009

From here I…

• Cropped the image to a 2.25 x 2.25 square

• Added a border with a drop shadow

• Tinkered with different filters and adjustments

Now the metamorphosis. Aren’t they lovely? It reminded me of when I first learned photography! Working in the darkroom, the image magically appearing on the paper! Fantastic. This process is just as fun and I think it got my mojo back for the photographic image. Let me know what you think. Am I recycling if it’s old images maybe?

Coming Up Daisies

"Coming Up Daisies" © Jennifer Ressmann, 2010

Coming Up Daisies

"Coming Up Daisies #5" © Jennifer Ressmann, 2010

Coming Up Daisies

"Coming Up Daisies #3" © Jennifer Ressmann, 2010

Share with Us!

